Legal Aid

Appointment of Legal Aid Agency Non-Executive Board Members

PUBLISHED November 19, 2012

19 November 2012

Three Non-Executive Board Members have been appointed

Three Non-Executive Board Members for the new Legal Aid Agency have been appointed. The Legal Aid Agency will be created on 1st April 2013 following the abolition of the Legal Services Commission.

The Non- Executive Board Members are:

John Grosvenor: John has considerable experience of the financial sector he is a Chartered Accountant and a former senior partner of PricewaterhouseCoopers. John is also a Non-Executive Director of the Heatherwood and Wexham Park Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and Chair of its Audit Committee; UK Treasurer for The Alzheimer's Society; Member of Council and Audit Committee of the Royal Veterinary College; and Member of the UK Advisory Board for Mazars LLP.

John Grosvenor will join the current Audit Committee of the Legal Services Commission in November 2012 as an independent member before becoming Chair of the Legal Aid Agency's Audit Committee and a member of the Legal Aid Agency Board in April 2013.

Eric Gregory: Eric brings his expertise of the commercial sector, including as a former IT and HR Director for John Lewis.  He is currently Non-Executive Director and member of the Audit and Risk Committees with both the Identity and Passport Service and the Cabinet Office Electoral Registration Transformation Programme, and an Independent Adviser to the National Assembly for Wales Commission.

Andrew Lockley: Andrew is a solicitor with extensive knowledge and expertise of the legal sector, including legal aid. He has been at the law firm Irwin Mitchell for the last 16 years, where he is a partner and Head of Public Law. He will retire from Irwin Mitchell at the end of January 2013. He is also a part-time tribunal judge. He was previously a senior official of the Law Society of England and Wales and a member of its management board.

Eric Gregory and Andrew Lockley will both take up their positions on the Legal Aid Agency Board, following its creation, in April 2013.